24th National Conference: Boston University's Doctor Thomas Hines to Give 22nd Charles E. Odegaard Lecture

Last Updated on April 16, 2022 by Lee Burnett, DO, FAAFP

Thomas Hines, MD; Boston University, Boston, Massachusetts

The 22nd Charles E. Odegaard Lecture will be presented on Tuesday, April 9, 2013 at the 24th National Conference on Primary Health Care Access at the Grand Hyatt Kaua’i in Koloa, Kaua’i.

The 2013 Odegaard Lecturer is Doctor Thomas Hines, Assistant Professor at Boston University (Massachusetts) and Director of the Boston Medical Center family medicine residency program. Dr Hines is a Fellow of the National Conferences.

The Odegaard Lectures, named after the former President of the University of Washington, address issues in medical education reform.

Dr Odegaard presided over a major expansion of all aspects of the University of Washington in the mid-20th century. Dr Odegaard, who was also a Fellow of the National Conferences, and the presenter of the Second G. Gayle Stephens Lecture in 1992, served on the Millis Commission whose 1966 report was one of the fundamental documents in the reform of primary health care education.

The previous Odegaard Lecturers have been Doctors Macaran A. Baird of the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis; Gerard Clancy, President, Oklahoma University, Tulsa campus; Mark E. Clasen of Wright State University, Dayton, Ohio; Richard Clover of the University of Louisville (Kentucky); Hector Flores of the White Memorial Medical Center, Los Angeles; Sim Galazka, of the University of Virginia (Charlottesville); and John Geyman of the University of Washington (Seattle).

Also, Doctors James Herman of the Penn State University/Milton Hershey School of Medicine, Hershey, Pennsylvania; Cornelius Hopper, Vice President for Health Affairs, University of California Systemwide (Berkeley); Norman B. Kahn of the American Academy of Family Physicians (Leawood, Kansas); Peter V. Lee of the University of Southern California (Los Angeles); David Marsland of the Virginia Commonwealth University/Medical College of Virginia (Richmond); and Patricia Matthews-Juarez of Meharry Medical School (Nashville, Tennessee).

Also, Doctors Daniel Ostegaard of the American Association of Family Physicians (Leawood, Kansas); Charles Q. North of the University of New Mexico, Albuquerque; Neal Palafox, of the University of Hawai’i, Mililani; Perry A. Pugno of the American Academy of Family Physicians (Leawood, Kansas); J. Jerry Rodos of Midwestern University (Western Springs, Illinois); and Emery Wilson of the University of Kentucky (Lexington).


people found this article helpful. What about you?