Members and Terms of the Executive Board

The Coastal Research Group Health Professional Student Association is a 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation governed by a nine-member Executive Board, one-third of which is elected at the annual membership meeting for three-year terms.

The Executive Board elects from its membership the Executive Chair, Secretary, and Treasurer, who constitute the Executive Committee of the corporation.

At the conclusion of two consecutive complete three-year terms, an incumbent board member may not run again for the same board position and achieves Emeritus status.

Executive Director:

  • Laura Turner
    Huntington Beach, CA

Board Terms Ending September 30, 2020:

Chair, Communications and Publications Committee:

  • Laura Turner
    Huntington Beach, CA


  • Kimberli S. Cox, MD
    Peoria, AZ
  • Chivas Owle
     Vero Beach, FL

Terms Ending September 30, 2021:

Chair, Research and Data Base Management Committee:

  • Gary LeRoy, MD (director 2005-2017)
    Dayton, OH


  • Benjamin Shapiro, MD
    Falmouth, ME
  • Catherine Arthur, DVM
    Clearwater, FL

Terms Expiring September 30, 2022:

  • Scott Nass, MD, MPA, FAAFP
    Rancho Mirage, CA
  • Emilio Russo, MD
    Bogalusa, LA
  • James Herman, MD, MSPH (Director 2011-2017)
    Tulsa, OK

Term Starting September 30, 2020:

  • Lee A. Burnett, DO, FAAFP
    Carlisle, PA

Emeritus Directors:

  • Thomas W. Allen, DO (1997-2003**)
    Tulsa, OK
  • Marc E. Babitz, MD (2007-2013)
    Salt Lake City, UT
  • Ana Bejinez-Eastman, MD
    Whittier, CA (2019)
  • F. Marian Bishop, Ph.D., MSPH (1996-2002)
    Salt Lake City, UT (deceased)
  • H. John Blossom, MD (1983-1991)
    Fresno, CA
  • John Boltri, MD
    Rootstown, OH
  • John G. Bradley, MD, MMM (1998-2009)
    Decatur, IL
  • Mark E. Clasen, MD, Ph.D. (1996-2002)
    Dayton, OH (deceased)
  • Richard Clover, MD (2005-2008; 2009-2013)
    Louisville, KY (deceased)
  • Ludlow B. Creary, MD, MPH (1983-1989)
    Los Angeles, CA
  • Robert C. Davidson, MD, MPH (1983-1989)
    Davis, CA
  • Richard Flinders, MD
    Santa Rosa, CA
  • Hector Flores, MD (2006-2018)
    Los Angeles, CA
  • William C. Fowkes, MD (1983-1989)
    Stanford, CA
  • James Herman, MD (2011-2017)
    Tulsa, OK
  • Norman B. Kahn, MD (1983-1990)
    Chicago, IL
  • Peter V. Lee, MD (1988-1996)
    Pasadena, CA (deceased)
  • Samuel C. Matheny, MD (1995-2001)
    Lexington, KY
  • John E. Midtling, MD, MS (1986-1994; 2001-2004)
    Issaquah, WA
  • William A. Norcross, MD (1989-1997)
    San Diego, CA
  • Charles Q. North, MD (1998-2004)
    Albuquerque, NM
  • Michael D. Prislin, MD (1989-1996)
    Irvine, CA
  • James C. Puffer, MD (1987-1993)
    Lexington, KY
  • Perry A. Pugno, MD, MPH (2006-2018)
    Leawood, KS
  • Denise V. Rodgers, MD (1993-1999)
    New Brunswick, NJ
  • Jonathan E. Rodnick, MD (1989-1995)
    San Francisco, CA (deceased)
  • Robert  G. Ross, MD+*
    Bend, OR
  • Joseph E. Scherger, MD (2000-2006)
    Palm Springs, CA
  • Allan Wilke, MD (2007-2013)
    Kalamazoo, MI